• Sportsurge - Live Sport Streaming
  • Watch Live Sport Now

Heisman Trophy finalists: Updated odds, top candidates to win 2020 award

Simply making it by way of the 2020 season was a powerful feat for school soccer gamers coping with COVID-19 outbreaks of their applications and schedule chaos that dismembered weekly routines.

A number of athletes stood out above the remainder for his or her on-field performances. 4 Heisman Trophy finalists have been introduced Thursday evening, and 6 different vote-getters have been additionally acknowledged and listed so as of end. The finalists are DeVonta Smith, Mac Jones, Trevor Lawrence and Kyle Trask.

The Heisman winner shall be declared on Jan. 5 in a digital ceremony. Votes have already been submitted, so bowl efficiency won’t sway the choice.

Smith, the main receiver for top-ranked Alabama, is the favourite for the award, having amassed 1,511 receiving yards and 17 touchdowns this yr.

MORE: Cases for and against each Heisman candidate

Here’s a have a look at the chances, finalists and historic winners for the Heisman Trophy:

Present Heisman award odds 2020

Over the previous week, DeVonta Smith and Trevor Lawrence have had their Heisman odds rise, whereas Kyle Trask light following a loss to Alabama. Mac Jones is about the identical as the place he was earlier than the SEC title sport.

Under are the up to date 2020 Heisman award odds.

Participant Odds
DeVonta Smith (WR, Alabama) -180
Mac Jones (QB, Alabama) +155
Trevor Lawrence (QB, Clemson) +1600
Kyle Trask (QB, Florida) +2700

Who’re the Heisman finalists?

The Heisman finalists have been introduced Thursday evening. Alabama offensive duo Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith made the reduce, whereas Tide working again Najee Harris fell in need of a finalist place with a fifth-place voting end. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask have been additionally named finalists, becoming a member of Jones and Smith.

Alabama defeated Florida this previous weekend within the SEC championship sport. Clemson toppled Notre Dame within the ACC championship sport.

Alabama and Clemson shall be a part of the upcoming Faculty Soccer Playoff.

2020 Heisman voting order

The order of vote-getters outdoors the highest 4 Heisman finalists was revealed Thursday evening.

Rank Participant
10 Kyle Pitts (TE, Florida)
9 Ian E-book (QB, Notre Dame)
8 Zach Wilson (QB, BYU)
7 Justin Fields (QB, Ohio State)
6 Breece Corridor (RB, Iowa State)
5 Najee Harris (RB, Alabama)

When is the Heisman Trophy given out?

The 2020 Heisman Trophy shall be given out on Jan. 5 at 7 p.m. ET. The award is voted on by school soccer media members across the nation. It’s the most prestigious particular person honor in school soccer, and possibly essentially the most coveted throughout all novice sports activities.

Historic Heisman Trophy winners

The Heisman Trophy has been unfold across the nation over the previous decade, with members of 5 completely different conferences claiming the glory. The middle of the school soccer media world may at instances appear to be the SEC, however three of the previous 4 press-voted winners have hailed from outdoors that convention.

This yr, followers might see the primary vast receiver chosen since 1991.

Listed below are the previous 10 Heisman Trophy winners:

12 months Participant Complete votes Margin of victory
2019 Joe Burrow, QB, LSU 2,608 1,846
2018 Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma 2,167 296
2017 Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma 2,398 1,098
2016 Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville 2,144 620
2015 Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama 1,832 293
2014 Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon 2,534 1,284
2013 Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State 2,205 1,501
2012 Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M 2,029 323
2011 Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor 1,687 280
2010 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn 2,263 1,184

Other Articles