• Sportsurge - Live Sport Streaming
  • Watch Live Sport Now

NFL awards: Chiefs, Browns, Bills big winners in voting for Sporting News’ 2020 honors

There are plenty of main particular person awards given after an NFL season, and it is time as soon as once more for Sporting Information handy out our prestigious honors. The distinctive course of did not change for SN in 2020 — the entire main awards have been decided by the winners’ friends across the league, not primarily based on Sporting Information’ employees opinion.

For Offensive Participant of the Yr, Defensive Participant of the Yr, Comeback Participant of the Yr and Rookie of the Yr, the winners have been chosen by who bought essentially the most votes from the gamers. Solely head coaches have been allowed to vote for Coordinator of the Yr and Coach of the Yr. Solely front-office employees and personnel decision-makers have been allowed to vote for Government of the Yr. In each case, gamers, coaches and executives have been suggested to not choose somebody from their very own group.

Ballots have been despatched out electronically across the league with a majority of the groups voting earlier than the early January deadline. Beneath are these outcomes, together with a number of shut calls and a few dominant winners.

MORE AWARDS: Sporting News 2020 NFL All-Pro team

Offensive Participant of the Yr: Patrick Mahomes, QB, Chiefs

(SN illustration)

Mahomes (4,740 yards passing, 38 TDs, six INTs, 8.1 yards per try, 108.2) wasn’t fairly as spectacular as his 2018 breakout MVP season, however the efficiency was shut. He nonetheless was spectacular sufficient to beat out Titans working again Derrick Henry and Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, regardless of that pair having extra standout numbers. Mahomes’ go-to tight finish, Travis Kelce, completed fourth in participant voting.

Defensive Participant of the Yr: Aaron Donald, DT, Rams

(SN illustration)

Statistically, Donald (13.5 sacks) additionally did not put up the identical astronomical numbers from 2018, however he was a monster a part of the huge Rams’ defensive turnaround in opposition to go and run below Brandon Staley, now the pinnacle coach of the Chargers.

Donald acquired some good competitors from Steelers edge rusher T.J. Watt and Dolphins cornerback Xavien Howard, however he nonetheless held a cushty benefit in voting.

Comeback Participant of the Yr: Alex Smith, QB, Washington

(SN illustration)

Smith wasn’t fairly unanimous however garnered 90 % of the gamers’ vote. The veteran QB got here again from a scary leg damage that put each his career and life in jeopardy. He was a testomony to perseverance simply working to get himself again on the sector. Smith grew to become an even bigger inspiration beginning once more and going 5-1 throughout the common season to assist Washington win the division below new offensive coordinator Scott Turner and new head coach Ron Rivera.

Rookie of the Yr: Justin Jefferson, WR, Vikings

(SN illustration)

Jefferson was challenged by Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert and Washington edge go rusher Chase Younger, however received the gamers’ vote comfortably. James Robinson, the Jaguars’ undrafted working again, completed fourth.

After Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow and Chiefs working again Clyde Edwards-Helaire fell out of the combo tied to accidents, Jefferson carried the flag for an LSU offensive win at ROTY. In solely 14 begins as a rookie, Jefferson caught 88 of 125 targets for 1,400 yards and 7 TDs as a robust substitute for All-Professional Stefon Diggs in Minnesota.

Jefferson is the sixth Viking to win SN ROTY and the fifth such large receiver, becoming a member of Paul Flatley, Sammy White, Randy Moss and Percy Harvin. The opposite winner from Minnesota was working again Adrian Peterson.

Coordinator of the Yr: Eric Bieniemy, OC, Chiefs

(SN illustration)

Bieniemy and Andy Reid proceed to plot nice recreation plans and Bieniemy additionally has carried out nicely when getting the possibility to name offensive performs. The 51-year-old might get handed up throughout one other spherical of head-coaching hires, however the remainder of the NFL’s massive loss solely advantages Kansas Metropolis and Mahomes. 

Bieniemy edged out Payments offensive coordinator Brian Daboll — his counterpart within the AFC championship recreation — and Steelers defensive coordinator Keith Butler.

Coach of the Yr: Kevin Stefanski, Browns

(SN illustration)

Stefanski, 38, cleaned up the mess in Cleveland to provide each an 11-5 AFC wild-card group, snapping an 18-year playoff drought, and the franchise’s first playoff win since 1995. He was an enormous assist settling quarterback Baker Mayfield and restored a run-heavy, play-action primarily based offense working with coordinator Alex Van Pelt.

Though the Browns fell brief within the divisional spherical, the rookie no extra has a vivid, lengthy profession forward. The opposite coaches receiving a number of votes from their friends have been Reid and the Dolphins’ Brian Flores.

Government of the Yr: Brandon Beane, GM, Payments

(SN illustration)

Beane pulled away from one other AFC East basic supervisor, the Dolphins’ Chris Grier, to take this honor definitively, acknowledged by executives across the league for the nice work he is carried out in Buffalo. Beane already had constructed a very good group round second-year quarterback Josh Allen in 2019, however took it one other degree with the perfect commerce of the offseason that paired Diggs witih Allen.

Beane has persistently drafted nicely and determined to spend correctly, and was rewarded when his assembled expertise displaced Invoice Belichick’s Patriots as the brand new AFC East group to beat. This Payments group received the franchise’s first playoff video games since 1996 en path to the AFC championship recreation.

The Steelers’ Kevin Colbert and the Browns’ Andrew Berry have been the one different two GMs who bought votes from their friends. Beane succeeds the Ravens’ Eric DeCosta in winning the award. Beane is the primary Payments GM to win the award since Invoice Polian received it twice back-to-back in 1991 and 1992.

Other Articles