Golfers in any respect ranges are obliged to play by the dignity system. That features PGA Tour professional Patrick Reed, who has gained a repute for being lower than honorable.
Reed, the No. 11 participant on the earth, opened himself up for extra accusations of dishonest with what he did on the tenth gap at Torrey Pines on Saturday. He was in a position to enhance his lie after an strategy shot landed in deep, moist tough. Guidelines official Brad Fabel agreed with Reed’s rivalry that his shot had turn into embedded within the tall grass and permitted Reed a free drop.
The issue is that Reed prematurely picked up his ball, cleaned it and positioned it a number of toes again earlier than calling over Fabel. The prevailing thought was that Reed ought to have marked his ball the place he initially discovered it after which consulted with the official.
CBS’s reside video confirmed Reed’s shot bouncing as soon as after which nestling within the tough. Reed spoke with a match volunteer as he approached the ball within the tough; she stated that she did not see the ball bounce. Reed then entered the grey space of a guidelines violation.
The CBS broadcast staff of Jim Nantz and Nick Faldo had been skeptical after watching the episode unfold. Additionally they weren’t offered on the community’s Tour guidelines advisor, Ken Tackett, defending Reed. Tackett stated solely that Reed “acquired forward of himself a bit bit.”
“The optics aren’t good,” Nantz stated (per Golf.com, which laid out the rules related to this incident).
Reed instructed CBS’s Amanda Balionis after his spherical that nobody in his enjoying group noticed his shot bounce. He stated he solely noticed what really occurred after a guidelines official confirmed him the video within the scorer’s tent. He stated the official then instructed him he dealt with the state of affairs “completely.”
Reed stated a lot the identical to Golf Channel.
“We’re tremendous with the end result of the state of affairs,” Tackett said after the round, per PGATour.com.
Reed signed for a 70 after his spherical; he’s tied for the match lead after 54 holes. However he now is aware of that his shot on 10 bounced earlier than stopping, which contradicts what he noticed and was instructed. Ought to Reed have admitted an error and known as a one-stroke penalty on himself, thus giving himself a 71? Or later disqualified himself for signing an incorrect scorecard? That will have been the honorable factor.