• Sportsurge - Live Sport Streaming
  • Watch Live Sport Now

When did your team last win a national title in football?

Alabama gained its sixth nationwide championship beneath Nick Saban with a 52-24 victory towards defending nationwide champion Alabama within the School Soccer Playoff championship sport Monday. 

Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith had 12 receptions for 215 yards and three TDs. Mac Jones handed for 464 yards and 5 TDs, and working again Najee Harris totaled 158 all-purpose yards with three TDs. 

MORE: Bama tops SN’s Way Too Early Top 25

Alabama gained its third nationwide title of the School Soccer Playoff period and continued its long-running dynasty beneath Saban. 

So who’s subsequent? When did your faculty final win a nationwide championship within the Ballot Period, which started in 1936 when the Related Press awarded Minnesota with a nationwide championship? The AFCA Nationwide Championship Trophy (1945) and Grantland Rice Trophy (1954) even have been used to find out nationwide championships up to now.

This is a better have a look at all these nationwide championship groups since then: 

  • Alabama gained its sixth nationwide championship beneath Nick Saban and 18th as a program with a 52-24 win towards Ohio State within the 2021College Soccer Playoff nationwide championship sport. Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith led a forged that included six consensus All-Individuals.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow led LSU to its fourth nationwide championship in a convincing 42-25 victory over defending nationwide champ Clemson within the School Soccer Playoff championship sport in New Orleans. Burrow handed for 463 yards and 5 TDs within the victory.

  • Clemson beat Alabama 44-16 within the 2019 School Soccer Playoff championship sport to grow to be the primary staff to complete 15-0 since 1897. That gave the Tigers two nationwide championships in three seasons beneath Dabo Swinney.

  • City Meyer led the Buckeyes to a victory within the first School Soccer Playoff nationwide championship sport towards Oregon. The Buckeyes gained 42-20 for this system’s first nationwide title since 2002.

    MORE: Top 10 Ohio State Buckeyes

  • The Seminoles, led by Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston, beat Auburn forthe remaining BCS championship, 34-31. Jimbo Fisher gave this system its first nationwide title since 1999.

  • Cam Newton’s unbelievable season propelled Auburn to the nationwide championship in 2010. Newton led the Tigers to an ideal season and a 22-19 win towards Oregon within the BCS championship sport.

    MORE: What if these stars went to other schools?

  • Tim Tebow and City Meyer helped lead the Gators to their second nationwide championship in three seasons. The Gators beat Oklahoma 24-14 within the BCS championship sport.

  • Vince Younger’s transcendent efficiency within the 2006 Rose Bowl led the Longhorns to a 41-38 victory towards USC. Mack Brown delivered a nationwide championship to this system with an undefeated season.

  • This nationwide championship was vacated by the Coaches Ballot and BCS, nevertheless it nonetheless occurred on the sector. USC, led by Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart, beat Oklahoma 55-19. The Trojans additionally gained the AP nationwide championship in 2003.

  • The Hurricanes loved a 12-0 season and dominated Nebraska 37-14 within the Rose Bowl. That gave this system its fifth nationwide championship since 1983.

  • Oklahoma gained the nationwide championship in Bob Stoops’ second season, defeating Florida State 13-2 within the BCS championship sport.

  • Tennessee kicked off the Bowl Championship Sequence period with an undefeated season beneath Phillip Fulmer. The Volunteers defeated Florida State 23-16 within the Fiesta Bowl to win that nationwide championship.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson and coach Lloyd Carr guided the Wolverines to a 12-0 season and a 21-16 victory towards Washington State within the Rose Bowl, successful the AP nationwide title.

  • Nebraska earned a cut up of the nationwide championship in 1997 in Tom Osborne’s remaining season. The Cornhuskers completed 13-0 and defeated Tennessee 42-17 within the Orange Bowl. Nebraska gained the Coaches Ballot because of this.

  • Washington, led by Steve Emtman and a nasty protection, gained the Coaches Ballot in 1991 after an undefeated season capped, by a 34-14 victory towards Michigan within the Rose Bowl. That gave Don James his first nationwide championship.

  • Colorado misplaced early within the season to Illinois, however the Buffaloes bounced again to win the remainder of their video games for the AP nationwide championship. Colorado beat Notre Dame 10-9 within the Orange Bowl, a sport greatest remembered for the clipping name on Raghib Ismail’s punt return for a landing within the remaining minute.

  • Bobby Ross guided the Yellow Jackets to the Coaches Ballot nationwide championship in 1990 after an 11-0-1 season that Yellow Jackets capped with a 45-21 victory towards Nebraska within the Orange Bowl.

  • Lou Holtz led the Irish to an undefeated season, with the marquee victory a 31-30 victory towards Miami(Fla.)in South Bend within the common season. Notre Dame beat West Virginia 34-21 within the Fiesta Bowl to cap a 12-0 season.

    MORE: Alternate history of ND football

  • The Nittany Lions completed 12-0 to present Joe Paterno a second nationwide championship. Penn State capped the season with a 14-10 victory towards Miami (Fla.)within the 1987 Fiesta Bowl.

  • The Cougars loved a implausible season in 1984 beneath LaVell Edwards and Robbie Bosco. BYU is the final Group of 5 faculty to win a nationwide title, they usually did that with a 24-17 win towards Michigan within the Vacation Bowl.

  • Georgia, led by freshman phenom Herschel Walker, launched into an ideal 12-0 season beneath coach Vince Dooley that ended with a 17-10 victory towards Notre Dame within the Sugar Bowl.

  • The Panthers, led by Johnny Majors and Tony Dorsett, gained the nationwide championship after a 12-0 season that featured a 27-3 win towards Georgia within the Sugar Bowl.

  • Michigan State (1965): Coaches Ballot

    Arkansas (1964): FWAA

    Ole Miss (1960): FWAA

    Minnesota (1960)

    Syracuse (1959)

    Iowa (1958):FWAA

    UCLA (1954):Coaches

    Maryland (1953)

    Illinois (1951):Boand

    Kentucky (1950):Sagarin

    Military (1945):AP Ballot

    Oklahoma State (1945):Coaches Ballot

    Stanford (1940):Billingsley

    Boston School (1940):Numerous

    Texas A&M (1939)

    TCU (1938)

    Cal (1937):Numerous

Other Articles