• Sportsurge - Live Sport Streaming
  • Watch Live Sport Now

Why Patrick Mahomes won SN NFL Offensive Player of the Year over Derrick Henry, Aaron Rodgers

Patrick Mahomes has been voted Sporting Information Offensive Participant of the Yr for the second time in three years. He was the bulk selection amongst his fellow NFL gamers, including 2020 to his victory in 2018, when he was additionally named NFL MVP.

Given the Chiefs’ quarterback did not have the unquestioned standout statistical brilliance often hooked up with OPOY, it is likely to be a shock. Mahomes (4,740 yards passing, 38 TDs, six INTs, 8.1 yards per try, 108.2 passer ranking) was particular and properly deserving in his personal proper, however contemplate the actual fact he beat out each Titans operating again Derrick Henry and Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers for the award.

Henry rushed for two,027 yards and 17 touchdowns. He turned solely the eighth participant in NFL historical past to join the 2,000-yard club.

Rodgers arguably had his finest passing season at age 37 (4,299 yards, 48 TDs, 5 INTs, 9.6 yards per try, 121.5 passer ranking). Aside from yardage, he was each extra prolific and extra environment friendly than Mahomes.

However Mahomes edging Henry and ending with a strong lead over Rodgers means that Mahomes has a legendary presence amongst his friends. He is regarded because the league’s most intimidating offensive drive — not Henry — and perceived as one of the best QB within the league, interval — not Rodgers.

Full voting results | All-Pro Team

Henry is not alone in dashing for two,000-plus yards and never successful SN OPOY. Eric Dickerson misplaced to Dan Marino in 1984. Each Jamal Lewis (2003) and Chris Johnson (2009) misplaced to Peyton Manning, who gained 5 occasions in his profession. Adrian Peterson gained in 2012, however he was the final operating again to take action. In any other case we have seen 13 quarterbacks win SN OPOYs in 14 years, together with Manning, Brady, Rodgers, Cam Newton, Mahomes and Lamar Jackson.

It is commonplace for the NFL MVP (the “official” Related Press model) to not additionally win SN OPOY. Simply in 2016, Brady beat out Matt Ryan for SN OPOY. In 2001, Marshall Faulk was SN OPOY whereas Rams teammate Kurt Warner was MVP.

NFL gamers do not get to see each prime offensive participant on the sphere. They do not look a lot at numbers or break down every thing in making such a choice. They merely take a look at a man who at all times performs at a excessive degree and a man they do not wish to play in a recreation they wish to win. They went with the reigning finest NFL participant on the NFL’s finest workforce. There’s nothing incorrect with that.

Coaches had the identical respect for Mahomes, simply voting to make him the first-team QB on SN’s All-Professional workforce over Rodgers, too. In lots of earlier SN OPOY votes, Manning or Brady had been so good for therefore lengthy, they saved getting acknowledged for repute. In simply three seasons of beginning within the NFL, it is unimaginable Mahomes already has gained that degree of award-winning respect across the league.

Other Articles